The Indian E-Visa


If you want to spend a few weeks traveling in India, the Indian e-visa is the easiest, most convenient option for you. Since 2002, the Indian government has been actively seeking to increase tourism to India with its Incredible India campaign. At the beginning of the campaign, however, prohibitive visa laws kept many from exploring that ancient, colorful, and captivating nation. Twelve years later, on November 27, 2014, the Indian government streamlined the visa process for residents of 40 different countries by introducing the Indian e-visa. In 2015, the list of eligible countries was expanded to 113, meaning that the majority of people in the world qualify for the simple visa as it is well known. Beware that there are specific extra requirements for some countries, so be sure to check out the official application for further details. For example, nationals of countries affected by yellow fever must carry a yellow fever vaccination card at their time of arrival as this is most important ever.


The e-visa requires a simple, online application. Visitors may apply for the visa a minimum of 4 days before the date of their arrival, but must arrive within 30 days of applying. The application requires a passport quality photo, a scanned copy of the photo page of your Passport, and personal details(including name, date of birth, nationality, passport expiration date, etc.). The non-refundable fee for the e-visa application depends on your country of origin, but the maximum fee is US $60. Beware, though, that because the fee is paid online to the Indian government, your bank may charge international payment fees as far as it is concerned.


Once you’ve emailed a copy of your e-visa documents, you must print them out and bring them with you on your flight. Once you arrive in India, officials will review the documents, take more information, and issue the official copy of the travel visa in your passport. The e-visa is only valid to land at 16 airports in India, so be sure to check the official list before you purchase your tickets. The list includes all major airports, like Delhi, Jaipur, Mumbai, Goa, and Kolkota, as well as quite a few minor airports. Once you’ve arrived in India, the e-visa is valid for 30 days. Each person may only use an e-visa two times per calendar year, and the visa is single entry, non-extendable, non-convertible, and not valid for protected and restricted cantonment areas, like Jammu and Kashmir or Sikkim.

Continue Reading